Posted by: Rory Brown | July 7, 2008

The wee mad road

I came across this book the other day. It is the tale of an American couple, Jack & Barbara Maloney who, when their children left home decided to sell up and travel.

They ended up in Coigach and have great tales of their 2 year adventure in Achiltibuie and the Summer Isles.

They have also set up a blog covering some of their experiences & feature some of Barbara’s illustrations.

The blog is here.

You can buy a copy of the book here.

Responses

  1. Thanks! We have a soft spot in our hearts for Tanera because Joan and Murdo Macleod who owned Castlehill when we lived there were some of the last people to leave the island to resettle on the mainland. They were very dear to us and we miss them.

    People in the Coigach area can find our book at Achiltibuie Store or in the Ullapool bookshop as an alternative to ordering it by mail.

    All the best!

  2. Would like to book you to speak at AAUW this fall. Mary schrankler – neighbor of Sinclairs.

  3. Mary,

    Thanks dfor dropping by. I assume this request is for Barbara Maloney. If so, all of her contact details are on the link to her blog in the post above.

    Rgds,

    Rory.

  4. Great book-So I am not the only person to cry when I have to leave!

  5. I just ordered a copy of this book. I plan to read it before my trip to Greenhill cottage in June. I will post my “review” when I am done! Any other books that take place in and around Achiltibuie? I’m so excited to visit!

  6. Thanks Tracy,

    Hope you enjoy the book (a good review would be interesting). Looking foward to you visiting Greenhill.

    Best wishes,

    Rory


Leave a Reply

Categories

